Board Changes at NIAB

20 Jan 2011

Richard Macdonald and Andrew Kuyk have been appointed as members of the NIAB Board.

Richard MacDonaldFormer NFU Director General Richard Macdonald currently chairs Defra’s Better Regulation Task Force. Andrew Kuyk is the Food and Drink Federation’s Director of Sustainability and Competitiveness. He was previously a senior official at Defra.

NIAB Board Chairman Tony Pexton said:

“NIAB is delighted to welcome Richard Macdonald and Andrew Kuyk as Board members. Their combined experience in the farming, food chain and Government sectors will undoubtedly strengthen NIAB’s continuing development as a national, independent centre for plant genetics, applied crop research and knowledge transfer.

Andrew Kuyk“As the world turns to agricultural science and innovation to address emerging food security and climate change objectives, Richard and Andrew fully understand the urgent need to revitalise the link between our research base and practical agriculture, and the strategic role NIAB has to play in that process.

“The exciting opportunities now opening up for NIAB reflect the major strategic changes we have made as an organisation. Over the past five years, NIAB has undergone a significant programme of investment in leading-edge plant science capabilities, and strengthened our role in applied agronomy research and technology transfer through the integration of NIAB and TAG.

“I would like to thank David Caffall and Alison Blackburn, who are retiring as Board members, for their contribution to NIAB over this critical period of development,” said Mr Pexton.

For further information contact:
Dr Tina Barsby, chief executive, NIAB TAG
T: 01223 342280
M: 07711 845209
E: tina.barsby [at]

Issued by:
Daniel Pearsall,
FrontFoot Communications
T: 01487 831425
M: 07770 875455
E: daniel.pearsall [at]