NIAB - National Institute of Agricultural Botany

Home > About Us > Contact us

Contact us

Huntingdon Road
Cambridge CB3 0LE UK

T: +44 (0)1223 342200
F: +44 (0)1223 277602

  • Directions to Cambridge HQ and regional centres and offices


Staff contact details

CEO Dr Tina Barsby
NIAB CUF Dr Marc Allison
Analytical Services and NIAB LabTest Miss Helen Appleyard
Head of Genetics and Breeding Dr Alison Bentley
Facilities Manager Mr Gary Bignell
Facilities Deputy Manager Mr Stephen Scarr
Regional Agronomist - South West Miss Emily Borton
Senior Research Scientist Dr Lesley Boyd
NIAB Ventures Dr Sean Butler
NIAB EMR Managing Director
Head of Crop Bioinformatics
Prof Mario Caccamo

Technical Director

Mr Bill Clark
Programme Leader Dr James Cockram
Centre Manager - Kirton Mr Shaun Coleman
Regional Agronomist - South Mr Steve Cook
Centre Manager - Sutton Scotney Mrs Lauren Edwards
NIAB CUF Dr David Firman
ISO Quality System and H&S Mr Stephen Flack
Analytical Services - Park Farm Mr Pete Fletcher
Programme Leader - Quantitative Genetics Dr Keith Gardner
Seed Certification Miss Jenny Hankin
Director of Cambridge Crop Research Dr Richard Harrison
UKCPVS Project Leader
Cereal Pathologist
Dr Sarah Holdgate
Programme Leader - Cereals Pre-Breeding Dr Phil Howell
Centre Manager - Telford Ms Catherine Johnson
Oilseed and Pulse Crops Specialist Mr Simon Kightley
Deputy Director Mr Stuart Knight
Cereal Crops Specialist Mrs Clare Leaman
Director of Resource Management Mr Mark Leaman
Senior Research Scientist Dr Fiona Leigh
Head of Communications
Press & media
Mrs Ros Lloyd
Official Seed Testing Station Miss Linda Maile
Director of Finance Mr Stephen Masson
Head of Business Development Dr Juno McKee
NIAB TAG Membership Office Mrs Mary McPhee
Marketing Mr Kevin Middleton
Farming Systems and Soils Specialist Mr Nathan Morris
NIAB EMR Mr Ross Newham
Vegetable Specialist Mr Bruce Napier

Chief Operating Officer

Mr David Neill
Programme Leader - Crop Physiology Dr Eric Ober
Centre Manager - Morley Ms Rebecca Owles
Regional Agronomist - West Mr Richard Overthrow

Head of Finance

Mr Mark Spraggins

Glasshouse Facilities

Mrs Hilary Papworth

Regional Manager - East
Head of Trials Delivery - Cambridge
Potatoes - varieties & trials

Miss Hannah Parish
Regional Manager - West
Centre Manager - Hereford
Mr Mike Perry
Events and conferences Miss Beth Postle
ARTIS Marketing and Sales Mrs Claire Pumfrey
Regional Manager - North
Centre Manager - Benniworth
Miss Hayley Rhodes

DUS - Agricultural Crops
Ornamental Crops

Miss Elizabeth Scott

NIAB Innovation Farm
Eastern Agri-Tech Innovation Hub

Dr Lydia Smith
NIAB CUF Dr Mark Stalham
Regional Agronomist - North Mr Patrick Stephenson
Head of Farming Systems Dr Elizabeth Stockdale
Directors' Office Miss Teresa Stratton
Forage Crops Specialist Miss Ellie Sweetman
Regional Agronomist - South Dr Syed Shah
Field Crop Research and Pathology Dr Jane Thomas
Programme Leader - Genetics and Breeding Dr Kay Trafford
Regional Agronomist - South East Mr Keith Truett
Crop Transformation Team      
Regional Agronomist - East Mr Andrew Watson
Contract Trials Mr Nick Watson
Regional Manager - South
Centre Manager - Newton Abbot
Mr Mark Wavish
Senior Molecular Pathologist Dr Tom Wood
TAG Consulting Mr Chris Winney